Can-Am DS-450 Forum :: DS450HQ.com banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4,819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so when i had the pink wire cut it ran great with the slip on and opened box, but i finally got my efi programmer and put it on. i sautered the pink wire back together, hooked it all up and it went ok. first off i noticed my bick was a bitch to start. then after i got over the fact that its electric and id rather be punching a button for 5 minutes than kicking it, i noticed that it now has this very distinctive 2 stroke feel to it. like a carb that needs cleaning. the power is NOT consistent with the throttle im giving it... i can run it through say first and second ok, but when i get to third and it starts opening up, it kinda stutters at low powerband, just beneath the middle of the throttle, then BLAM it kicks my ass and opens up. i keep thinking of my old 250r. so i started riding it like my old bike, and it seems to respond alot better to super aggressive riding/throttle than say the rather passive trail-riding ive been giving it. i attempted to screw with the settings on the programmer, but it seemed to worsen the situation, so i set it back to the original settings.

now im not neccessarily dissapointed with the new characteristics of the bike, as im much more comfortable riding hard, but it was just a little...unexpected?

just wondering if anyone else has a programmer and has faced this scenario. would hate to need a new injector or something just a week before my big trip. any suggestions?:1zhelp:

·
Registered
1,667 Posts
hmm, The dealer i bought my can-am from told me i had to bring the quad back to them, and they had to re-program it or something for the motoworks fmi. Maye your supposed to bring it to the dealer to have them re-program it? Ill let you know how mine is whe ni get it back from them.

·
Registered
323 Posts
get a dyno tune.

·
Registered
1,667 Posts
get a dyno tune.